---
title: TV Interface Settings
slug: tv-interface-settings
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-01-15T16:10:35.575Z
---

# Overview

TV Interface Settings gives the Primary Admin and Contact Admins control over certain aspects of the TV End User's experience.

# Permissions

| **User**      | **Permissions**                                                |
| ------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Primary Admin | <font color="#3b9f0f">Yes</font><font color="#3b9f0f"> </font> |
| Contact Admin | <font color="#3b9f0f">Yes</font>                               |
| Contact       | <font color="#ef4444">No</font>                                |
| TV User       | <font color="#ef4444">No</font>                                |

# Adjusting TV Interface Settings

Update JubileeTV Interface Settings by following these steps:

1. Open the Account Menu from the **three dots (⋯)&#x20;**&#x69;n the top right corner of the App.
2. Select **TV Interface Settings** from the menu options.
3. Toggle the desired settings on or off and scroll to the bottom of the screen to save changes.

# Global Settings

Global Settings impact the TV End User and all App Users (the Primary Admin, Contact Admins, and Contacts).&#x20;

## Message

When toggled on, App Users and the TV End User can communicate via messaging. This setting is toggled **OFF by default**.

| Feature State | App User Experience                                                                                                 | TV User Experience                                                                                                                   |
| ------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| Toggled ON    | The **Message** button is visible. Photos/videos can be sent via the Message screen or the Photos & Videos library. | The **Message** tile is visible on Contact pages. Incoming media appears in both the message thread and the Photos & Videos library. |
| Toggled OFF   | The **Message** button is hidden. Media can **only** be sent via the Photos & Videos tile.                          | The **Message** tile is hidden. Incoming media goes directly to the library with **no on-screen notification**.                      |

**Key Technical Behaviors**

- **Media Storage:** If Messaging is OFF, received photos and videos only appear in the **Photos & Videos** library.
- **Notifications:** Toggling Messaging OFF automatically disables "Photos & Videos Notifications" on the TV interface to ensure a quiet, passive experience.

# TV Permissions & Settings

These permissions and settings only impact the TV End User.

## Adjust Permissions for Contacts

When enabled, this setting grants the **TV End User** the ability to manage their own support circle directly from the TV.

- **When ON:&#x20;**&#x54;he TV End User can navigate to a person's profile in Contacts and access Permissions screen to:
  - **Change Roles:** Upgrade a standard Contact to a Contact Admin, or downgrade a Contact Admin to a Contact.
  - **Edit Permissions:** Modify permissions for Contacts.
  - **Delete:&#x20;**&#x44;elete Contact Admins and Contacts.
  - **Safety Guardrail:** The Primary Admin’s role can never be changed.
- **When OFF (Default):**
  - The Permissions screen is hidden on the TV.
  - All user roles and permissions must be managed on the JubileeTV App.

## Make Outbound Calls

When enabled, the TV End User can navigate to a person's profile in Contacts to initiate video calls.

- **When ON (Default):&#x20;**&#x54;he Call tile is visible on the TV.
- **When OFF:&#x20;**&#x54;he Call tile is hidden on the TV.

## Modify Favorites

When enabled, the TV End User can navigate to Favorites to edit them.

- **When ON:&#x20;**&#x54;he Add a Favorite and Remove a Favorite buttons are visible on the Favorites screen on the TV.
- **When OFF (Default):&#x20;**&#x54;he Add a Favorite and Remove a Favorite buttons are hidden on the Favorites screen on the TV.

## Invite a Contact

When enabled, the TV End User can access instructions for inviting friends and family to join JubileeTV.&#x20;

- **When ON:&#x20;**&#x49;nstructions are visible.
- **When OFF:&#x20;**&#x49;nstructions are hidden.

## Photos & Videos Notifications

If enabled, the TV End User will receive notifications when new photos and videos are shared.

- **When ON:&#x20;**&#x54;V End User will receive notifications.
- **When OFF:&#x20;**&#x54;V End User will not receive notifications.

## JubileeTV Home Screen Access

This setting controls whether the TV End User and App Users can open the JubileeTV home screen.

- **When ON (Default):&#x20;**&#x54;he home screen is accessible by pressing the **J button&#x20;**&#x6F;n the JubileeTV remote or by navigating within Telescope.
- **When OFF:&#x20;**&#x54;he **J button** is disabled, and the home screen cannot be accessed.

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Dependent Settings**

Because they rely on the home screen, turning this setting OFF automatically disables the following TV Interface Settings:

- **Message:** Disables the messaging feature entirely for both the TV End User and all App Users.
- **Photos & Videos Notifications:** Suppresses all on-screen alerts when new photos or videos are received.
:::

