---
title: Conflict Resolution Between Video Calls, Telescopes, & Drop In
slug: conflict-resolution-between-video-calls-telescopes-and-drop-in
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-01-05T17:04:28.699Z
---

# Overview

JubileeTV is designed for single-session concurrency—only one **video call**, **Drop In**, or **Telescope** session can be active with the TV End User at any given time.

## What happens if I try to start a new session when one is ongoing?

Your session will either be **blocked**, you'll be **prompted to override** the ongoing session, or your session will **automatically override** the ongoing session. Please see details below for specifics.&#x20;

# Session Priority and Overrides

**Session Definition:** A **session** is defined as an active **AutoConnect video call**, **standard video call**, **Drop In**, or **Telescope** connection.

JubileeTV manages concurrent connection attempts using the hierarchy below.

## AutoConnect Video Calls (Tier 1)

- AutoConnect video calls **auto override** all session types—they automatically disconnect any active session and start an AutoConnect video call.&#x20;

## Standard Video Calls (Tier 2)

- Standard video calls **auto override** **Drop In** and **Telescope** sessions—they automatically disconnect any active Drop In or Telescope session and start the video call.
- Standard video calls are **blocked by** active **Tier 1** or **Tier 2** calls.

## Drop In & Telescope (Tier 3)

- Drop In and Telescope sessions are **blocked&#x20;**&#x62;y **Tier 1** or **Tier 2** calls.
- If a Drop In or Telescope session is active, the user attempting to start a new session is **prompted** to either **override** the active session or **cancel** their request.

## Behavior Matrix

| ****<br />****               | Active:<br />AutoConnect                    | Active:<br />Video Call                     | Active:<br />Drop In                        | Active:<br />Telescope                      |
| ---------------------------- | ------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------- |
| Attempting:<br />AutoConnect | <font color="#3b9f0f">Auto overrides</font> | <font color="#3b9f0f">Auto overrides</font> | <font color="#3b9f0f">Auto overrides</font> | <font color="#3b9f0f">Auto overrides</font> |
| Attempting:<br />Video Call  | <font color="#eb144c">Blocked by</font>     | <font color="#eb144c">Blocked by</font>     | <font color="#3b9f0f">Auto overrides</font> | <font color="#3b9f0f">Auto overrides</font> |
| Attempting:<br />Drop In     | <font color="#eb144c">Blocked by</font>     | <font color="#eb144c">Blocked by</font>     | Prompts                                     | Prompts                                     |
| Attempting:<br />Telescope   | <font color="#eb144c">Blocked by</font>     | <font color="#eb144c">Blocked by</font>     | Prompts                                     | Prompts                                     |

### Terminology Definitions:

- <font color="#3b9f0f">**Auto Overrides**</font>**:** The system automatically terminates the active session and connects the new one.
- <font color="#eb144c">**Blocked by**</font>**:** The incoming connection is denied; the initiator is notified that another session is active.
- **Prompts:** The initiator must manually confirm they want to displace the active user.

## Notifications

- When an AutoConnect call overrides another session, the disconnected user is informed, but the AutoConnecting user is not.
- When a standard video call auto overrides a Drop In or Telescope session, the disconnected user is informed, but the video calling user is not.
- When a standard video call is blocked by an active Tier 1 or Tier 2 call, the video calling user is informed.
- When a Drop In or Telescope session is blocked by a Tier 1 or Tier 2 call, the blocked user is informed.
- When a Drop In or Telescope session overrides a Drop In or Telescope session, the disconnected user is informed.



